New Toy

So, I got my Federal tax return last week, which is always that great annual lump sum payout for paying too much in taxes the rest of the year that gives you some nice spending cash, cash for bills, whatever. Well, I don’t have a lot of bills, so I took advantage of the extra spending cash. So, I bought another expensive toy.

20170228_115756

For those who are curious, that is a Steam Machine. Basically, it’s a tiny i7 powered PC that runs SteamOS natively and hooks up to your TV for couch gaming. SteamOS is based on Debian Linux, making this first computer I’ve ever bought with Linux preinstalled. So far, all I’ve had time to do is hook it up and update, which borked controller (it’s a common issue.) I’ll fix it when I get home from work tonight. At the price I got the thing, I’m not complaining. Since retailers are trying to get rid of them, I got this majorly reduced. The i7 is the top of the line, $800 MSRP. However, I got mine for a little over $450. That’s close to half off. You can’t buy or build an i7 powered tower with 8GB RAM, a 1TB HD and an Nvidia GTX960 for less, so I’m happy. I’m going switch my PC games over to this and use my desktop for other stuff.

8 thoughts on “New Toy

  1. Furthermore, once again, I LOATHE WordPress on a phone! I tried twice to edit this post to fix a spelling error, only to have it not update even though it said it did. To get the change to stay, I had to unpublish and then republish the post.

  2. Thanks guys! It’s a fun toy, for sure. I got it all updated, the OS still needed updates, as the earlier update was just for Steam itself. I also got the controller working again, or at least I got the Steam controller I already had working with it. Steam is kind of weird and it “registers” the controller to your account, so I got the one I had already registered working. Anywho, I also bought a Logitech wireless keyboard with a trackpad at work, only $20 on rollback. 🙂

    I’m really looking forward to putting this thing through its paces. I tried a few games, but noting too taxing on the hardware yet. But, I’m downloading Borderlands 2, and I have some other graphically intense games, such as Shadow Warrior, to play. Those will really push the hardware. Fortunately, unlike some people who buy these things, I’m ready to go with over 60 Linux compatible games in my library, plus the machine came with a few free games.

Leave a Reply

