May the Fourth Be With You

Well, I hope everyone is having a happy Star Wars day. I certainly am, mainly because of what I got yesterday. No, this isn’t a 3D model.

That is my new lightsaber, ordered from Ultra Sabers.  I’ve been wanting one of these for ages, so I finally got one.  The hilt is all aluminum and has some nice weight to it.  The blade is thick walled polycarbonate, because I got a heavy blade, one you can duel with.

Now, I didn’t pick the hilt design or the blade color, because I ordered what they call their Grab Bag.  That’s where they send you a random hilt, something they have already made.  The hilt is an Initiate V4 LE hilt, and it has a silver AV switch.  Together with the blade, this setup would be $104.99, but I paid only $70 for it because I got it in the Grab Bag.  Plus, the Grab Bag has another fun element to it in that you don’t know what you’re getting, so it’s like buying yourself a surprise.  Oh, and the blade is blazing red, it just looks yellow-orange on my camera.  My phone made it look pink, so I went with my Nikon Coolpix for taking the pictures.  I could have picked the blade color, but I just let them decide.  Red wouldn’t have been my first choice, but I don’t hate it.  It’s too hard to hate something this badass.  Besides, I knew red was a possibility when I ordered the saber.  They have 8 different LED colors and you can get any of them in the Grab Bag.  Or, you can choose another color for $5 or $10 more.

I would like a longer hilt, so I may have to get another one soon and choose the hilt this time.  Plus, they’re having a sale right now.  Though, I’m also planning to buy a longer pommel for this one.  The pommel unscrews easily to access the batteries, and to change it if you want to.

Anyway, I’m really pleased with my first Ultra Sabers purchase.  I’ll definitely be a repeat customer.  I also like their forum, it’s full of other saber nuts, many of whom are friendly and helpful towards people looking for that first saber purchase.  US is much cheaper than most custom lightsaber shops.  Plus, their turnaround is quick.  Since I decided to not wait until payday, which is tomorrow, I ordered my Grab Bag last Thursday.  It was shipped Friday and I got it yesterday.  I paid for 2 day shipping because it was only a few dollars more and because I wanted it faster.  😀

So, May the Force Be With You all.  It’s certainly with me.

 

2 thoughts on “May the Fourth Be With You

  1. I was drooling over the UltraSaber site the other day…so cool to see it “in person.” Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

