Support Ship, Pt. 01

I had an interesting experience the other day.  I decided to try BSD on my main computer.  For people who don’t know what that is, it’s basically pure Unix.  Unix is the original computer operating system and all modern operating systems are based on it, even Windows at some level is based on Unix.  Mac OSX and the Linux kernel are more indicative of Unix and how it works as they’re more closely based on it.  So, I decided the other day to try GhostBSD on my computer.  Before installation, I checked to see if it can be dual booted with Linux, which it can.  However, during installation, instead of just installing onto the partition I told it to use, it decided to wipe my entire hard drive.  So, I lost all of my data on my computer (fun, fun.)  Anywho, a lot of it was junk, but there were a few things I’d like to have kept.  Most of it was stuff I can get by downloading it again, like my CGI reference library and fan films, etc.  I was running a restoration program that is available for Linux.  It was working fantastically, but the problem was it was finding every file that had ever been deleted and not overwritten.  Plus, it was giving them names staring with f, then a long number sequence and the file extension.  It was going to take forever to go through all of that junk.  Plus, it was just taking up way too much space on the HD and it wasn’t anywhere near being done.  So, I decided to abort that and just rebuild my libraries of reference images, fan films and whatever else.

One of the things I lost that made me unhappy was my CGI ships.  I have some of my old stuff from Lightwave on Dropbox, but I lost other stuff.  I also lost my ship I was working on in Blender.  But, such is life.  Anyway, after getting Linux Mint reinstalled on my computer and starting things like re-downloading my library of games on Steam, I decided to start on a new ship.  Prior to losing all of my data, I’d been working on some non-Trek stuff, but it was going nowhere quickly.  I had ideas, but they looked better in my head than they did in 3D.  (it happens)  So, since I lost that crap anyway, I decided to do a new Trek ship.

I deiced to go with a “future” Trek ship, something from after TNG.  I’m leaning towards it was commissioned somewhere around the year 2500, or Stardate 77-something.  (2375 was the year the Dominion War ended, with Stardates in the 52000s)  It’s pretty basic so far, but the main hull took a long time to work out exactly how I wanted it to go.  In fact, that took an entire day of pushing polygons around and seeing how it looked with subdivision applied.  (the thing started as a simple 8-sided cylinder)  Anyway, it’s about where I want it and pretty soon I’m going to apply that subdivision modifier so that I can start adding details like grid lines, windows, etc.  Though, I don’t figure it’s going to have a lot of windows.  I have already started detailing the nacelles.

SupportShip_Build004

SupportShip_Build003

SupportShip_Build002

SupportShip_Build001

This is a small ship, it’s only about 84 meters long.  (I’ll give more solid numbers once I get the sub-d applied to the main hull)  It has 5 decks and I figure a crew of only 20-30 people.  Obviously, a ship this small wouldn’t make a good explorer or any other type of ship that goes on long term missions.  But, that’s not a problem because this isn’t that kind of ship.  It’s a support ship for a Starbase.  (think about the role of the Defiant on DS9)  Basically, it’s a ship they use when they need to send a ship out to do something like a planetary survey, or go scan an anomaly, or something along those lines.  So, go out, do its mission, then RTB.  Nothing long term.  When it’s not on a mission, it probably flies defensive patrols in the general AO of the Starbase.  I figure a ship of that type doesn’t need to be huge anyway and a Starbase would likely have other ships nearby it could call in for bigger missions.

So, that’s what I have so far.  More to follow.  🙂

Leave a Reply

