Blendering, Pt. 04

Well, the nacelle is mostly done. I’m still fiddling with the bussard collectors. For one thing, I need to redo the light bulbs. Plus, I’m still hunting for the correct combination of shaders to get the dome to light how I want it to with transparency/translucency and all.

Also, I have some kind of odd “bright” pixels happening in the second and fourth images. I’ll have to look into Cycles settings and figure out what’s going on there.

TOS_Nacelle01

TOS_Nacelle02

TOS_Nacelle03

TOS_Nacelle04

Also, I have a question for Blender users. When you take several objects and make them one (like the various parts of the nacelle) how do you connect them? Do you Join them? I’ve seen “joined” meshes when I import my Lightwave meshes and they don’t handle multiple UV maps very well, so I’d think joining them would mess up the UV mapping. Or, do you Group them? Or is there a third option I don’t know about? Truespace had a cool glue tool, but not many other packages seem to have that. In Lightwave, I just collapsed everything down to one layer, but that’s not how Blender works.

One thought on “Blendering, Pt. 04

  1. You’re doing GREAT!

    You can join everything by selecting all items and hitting Cntrl+J. That turns all selected items into a single mesh. Or you can create a parent – child relationship. You can even move the separate parts if you need to, but move the parent and they ALL move.

    I don’t know if there are any “correct” shaders, but I can share what I use. I think I’ve posted my dome shaders on 3dscifi.com a couple of times.

Leave a Reply

