Blendering Pt. 02

It’s going to be a mixed bag of things while I work at figuring out in this software.

I do have one mesh that I built in Lightwave that is ready for import into Blender, because I built it specifically to be exported and imported. It’s the Vulcan shuttle I built for Tobias Richter that (as anybody who follows Star Trek: Axanar knows) he used in the video for the latest Axanar Indiegogo campaign. Since I built it for export and import into Maya, I already had the ngons triangulated and everything was already UV unwrapped to make it easy for Tobias to pop the .fbx export into Maya, reattach the textures, fiddle with the materials and get cracking. Similarly, I imported the .lwo object into Blender, separated the ring from the main hull so that I could use the ring UV map, applied the edge split modifier so that it doesn’t look like garbage, and set to reapplying the textures and setting up the materials.

There ended the easy part. The last time I messed around with textures in Blender was 7 months ago, so I had my work cut out for me remembering how to do it. I more or less remembered the shaders I wanted, but remembering how to set up the nodes as another story. Fortunately, there are other people wondering how to do this stuff, so I just had to do a simple web search. I found a few node setups and those got me on the right track, it was just a matter of tweaking stuff to get it where I wanted it. Anyway, this is where it stands right now:

VS_Blender01

4 thoughts on “Blendering Pt. 02

Leave a Reply

