And still more…

I added the “baseball bat” to the impulse engines yesterday. I think this version is closer to what was on the original ship, but it’s not perfect. Though, it’s a very odd shape to make, so I’m glad it’s as close as it is. Today, I added the windows to the saucer section. I know, “purists” will say that the saucer rim and B/C deck on the 11-foot model don’t have symmetrical windows. While that’s true, I feel that they should. The port side saucer rim and B/C deck look so plain to me with only two windows a piece (yes, I know there were more towards the back of the rim, but the port fore is seen more often.) Had they detailed the port side of the ship, I think they would have given it the same number of windows as the starboard side. They did that on the 33-inch model. And, since it was never really seen on screen, one could argue that the port side would have had the same number of windows. So, mine does. However, I left the other windows asymmetrical. Those windows were clearly seen in a lot of episodes and are intentionally asymmetrical.

Constitution_WIP09

Constitution_WIP10

Constitution_WIP11

Constitution_WIP12

6 thoughts on “And still more…

  1. It’s coming together quite nicely. I’ve been a fan for a while and the Constitution-class is my favorite starship. You definitely do it justice. Thank you for sharing your wonderful work.

    Sincerely,
    Brian Ridder

  2. Awesome! Do you plan to do a little animated version with your new bussard collector lighting scheme? I’d love to see them spinning! I’m pretty sure you did a moving version in the past. Just curious. As always, fantastic job.

Leave a Reply

