Here we go again…

Well, it’s Constitution class time again. No, I’m not building a whole new ship, I’m just fixing a few things with my last one.

It started with the bussard collectors. Dan “Madkoifish” Uyeno is building a Connie and we got into a discussion about them on 3DSciFi. I’ve known for years that the bussards were 10 colored Christmas tree lights on a bed of broken mirror bits, with curved blades that spun over them and a frosted glass dome over it all. However, until Dan mentioned it, it never occurred to me that the lights weren’t just set in there straight, they were bent towards the center of the assembly. It makes sense, they fit under the blades and dome a lot better that way. So, taking that all into account, I came up with this:

Bussard_Test02

After fixing some materials and changing the colors of the lights, and making the dome visible again, it looks like this:

Bussard_Test06

After all of that, I decided to “fix” some other stuff on the rest of the model. One thing I don’t like about it is how big the windows are, I made a mistake there. So, I painstakingly removed all of the windows from the engineering hull and patched up the holes without damaging the mesh. It’s all nice and smooth again. (better that than to rebuild it) I also have more recent images showing me that my warp pylon shape was wrong, so I fixed those too. The main pylon, or “neck,” shape was also wrong, though that one is harder to gauge. So, I redid that part in an attempt to make it more accurate. I also have some nice HD screen caps (again, compliments of Mr. Uyeno) with the original effects that show pretty well the shape of the navigational deflector spike. I had that totally wrong, it was modeled more like the one currently on the ship. So, I rebuilt that and also colored it correctly.

So, after all of that, this is where the engineering hull and nacelles stand:

Constitution_WIP01

Constitution_WIP02

Constitution_WIP03

Constitution_WIP04

Aside from the bussards, the nacelles have no changes. They look good enough to me. For the saucer, I’m going to spin a new saucer base, rather than patch the windows back up like I did on the engineering hull. After all, saucers are really fast and simple to make. Though, some of the bits like the main part of the impulse engines and some of the other bits won’t have to be redone. And, after I’m done fixing shapes and re-adding windows, I’m going to model all of the hull markings, rather than the textured markings the ship has now. Then I’m also going to do new textures.

5 thoughts on “Here we go again…

    • I’d love to know what color the outer dome was. I don’t believe it was the clear frosted one they have on there now. If it was, I’d love to know exactly how they lit it. I can’t get close to the look it had on the show without tinting the dome. Of course, it’s also possible that it’s a limit of CGI, but my modeled lights should be more or less acting like the real thing.

      Greg Jein’s model from “Trials and Tribble-ations” had clear domes on it, but I suspect there may have been some composition magic at work there. I don’t think that would have been an option in the 1960s.

Leave a Reply

