Klingon Shuttle

Yesterday on Scifi-Meshes, Tobias Richter sent out a call for help. He’s doing effects work for the upcoming fan short film Star Trek: Axanar: Prelude to Axanar and he needed a little mesh help. (and I do mean little πŸ˜‰ ) He’s got a Klingon dry dock scene in the works and he asked for someone to build a Klingon equivalent of a workbee. He needed it to be low poly and he needed it fast. So, I spent the afternoon working on a Klingon small craft.

My first version was too close to the Federation workbee and my second looks too much like a shuttle. This is the more shuttle-like version that I came up with:

KlingonShuttle01

KlingonShuttle02

KlingonShuttle03

Fortunately, Dan “MadKoiFish” Uyeno came up with an awesome little workbee and Tobias said he could use the shuttle also. So, I’m happy that I was able to build something that he could use.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with how it came out, even if it doesn’t look like a workbee. Design wise, I was going for something that I thought looked Klingon, with sharp edges and whatnot. I even tried to do a little Bird of Prey style paneling on there, though not much as there’s not much surface to work with. Of course, if I were working on this for me, it would be a lot smoother. However, as a background piece that will be seen for a second or two, it should work fine. It’s only 6614 polygons, all quads and triangles. It’s also all one piece. That made it easier to export to a .fbx file for Tobias’ use.

Eventually, I may do a higher polygon and higher detail version with textures, or I may not.

5 thoughts on “Klingon Shuttle

    • Thanks bro. I’m really happy with how it came out, especially since I designed and built it in a few hours. I’ve spent longer than that gearing myself up to start projects before. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

