USS Sirius, Pt. 01

As I’ve mentioned several time before, I’m working on a ship called USS Sirius, designed by Steve Neill for a short film we were working on a few years ago. (for the whole story, just search the blog for “Sirius”) Previously, I’d only built a nacelle, but yesterday I started on the rest of the ship. This is what I have so far.

Sirius005

Sirius006

Sirius007

Sirius008

Since this ship isn’t a kitbash, like so many fan designs are, I’ve had to build most everything for this model. The only exception is the deflector, that’s off of my Enterprise model. Even the nacelles were built for this, I just modified them slightly to use them for the Enterprise. Work is going at a steady pace. I don’t want to go too fast, because I tend to make mistakes when I do that. Then, if I don’t catch them, I have to go back later and fix them, usually when I’ve either closed the program or am too many steps past to undo that far back. Then it’s a real pain in the butt to fix stuff. So, I’m working steadily and meticulously on this. I was hoping to be a bit farther by now, but I had some other stuff to do last night and I also got The Mummy (the original film with Boris Karloff) from Netflix, so I watched that. And, as people living in the United States know, today was the Super Bowl. I am a football fan, but I don’t really watch either of the teams that were playing. Teams I root for rarely make it to the Super Bowl, but I still like to watch. However, as the teams that were playing weren’t my favorites, I did do quite a bit of modeling during the game. Since I finally got far enough to where it more or less looks like ship, as opposed to just a collection of parts, I decided it was time to show some progress. šŸ˜‰ There’s still plenty more to do, but I’m happy with how far I got since starting yesterday. (except the nacelles, since I built those months ago. šŸ˜› )

9 thoughts on “USS Sirius, Pt. 01

  1. Chris fantastic she’s so clean. The back story on this ship is it’s a least 20 years old. And had at one time different old style nacelles. After Captain Neill’s successful mission he is given a ship of his own. She’s beat up and has a rag tag crew but it’s all his after driving a desk for years. Before my wife got cancer and passed away last year we had planned to finish the Sirius and do another episode. The crew has to fix up the old ship and get her going again to do some of the dirtiest jobs in star Fleet.

    • Thanks Steve. Yeah, I’m trying not to change too much about your design, I’m mostly combining some parts where you have multiple pieces and doing stuff like edge rounding. (I love my edge rounding šŸ˜‰ ) So far, the saucer section is two pieces. And it’s only that many because I couldn’t figure out a way to make the piece that sticks out of the back combine cleanly the main part. šŸ˜‰ As it was, that part was a bit tricky for me to duplicate and isn’t exactly like yours, but I figure it’s close enough.

      I remember a lot of your back story, which is one of the reasons I’m drawn to not only the ship but also the story. Star Trek usually focuses on the best and brightest, whereas this is more of a story of “the other guys.” Old beat up ship, people who couldn’t get assigned to a nicer ship for various reasons, shitty missions. It just sounds like a lot of fun. šŸ˜€

  2. First, progress from having just a nacelle! I glad we are going to see this done.

    Second, my team was in the big game and we won. I couldn’t have worked on anything if I tried! šŸ˜€

    • I don’t usually watch or root for the Seahawks, but I was in that game. But, that’s mostly because I don’t like Peyton Manning. Those are usually the kind of factors I take into account when picking my Super Bowl team, since my favorite teams haven’t been there in ages. šŸ˜‰ (I live in Ohio, you do the math)

  3. I’ve wanted to see this since Steve first mentioned this was happening in his blog. Looks great so far. I’m still working on my version.
    The Mummy is one of my favorite films. Funny thing is, it’s basicly the exact same story of Dracula. Even the guy who played Van Helsing plays the Van Helsing like character in this movie. I look forward to seeing this progress.

    • I was wondering if you were still working on yours.

      Yeah, I watched the special features on The Mummy. Apparently, the script was way different until the guy who did the script for Dracula made some changes, some of which were Dracula-esque. They pointed out the similarities between the two films in the special features.

Leave a Reply

