22nd Century Starship pt. 13

More bits. I’m closing in on being done with the modeling phase of this ship. It’s all small stuff left, which is both a relief and a pain because you can spend more time working on little detail bits than big structures because of the size and intricacy. But, it’s nice to almost be done.

NXES061

NXES062

NXES063

NXES064

Lightwave is definitely different than my old software because it has separate programs, Modeler and Layout. Layout is used for rendering. (If you have to ask what Modeler is used for, there’s something wrong with you. :P) Unfortunately, that’s also where you set objects to not cast or receive shadows. The software I used before was a single program, so I could set an object (or part) to not cast or receive shadows and save it and that setting stayed. Unfortunately, this is not the case with Lightwave. If I set something to not cast or receive shadows in Layout and save the object, it won’t save that setting. If I remove the object from the scene and/or exit the program, it will be reset when I go back into the program and reload the object. This is problematic because you use objects in different scenes and I also don’t think I’ll be able to edit parts once I collapse the model layers down to a single object. So, I was about pulling out my hair looking for a way around this, a setting that would stay. Obviously, I don’t want things like the blue glowing thing behind the deflector to receive shadows because it’s supposed to be a light source. The manual was no help, nor was the book I have on the software or Google. Nothing could answer the question for which I needed an answer. So, I finally figured out on my own that if I turned the diffusion all the way down and ramped up the luminosity, I got glowing bits that don’t receive shadows. And, since material settings are saved with the model files, that stays when I save and exit.

6 thoughts on “22nd Century Starship pt. 13

  1. You work fast! It’s really taking shape. Out of curiosity, have you done any space stations? I seem to recall your having done a K-7 in the past, but have you thought about doing any mashups or original designs?

    • Thanks. I’ve done a couple space stations, but they’re few and far between. I actually started on a station from this era at one point, but I never finished it. I do enjoy doing space station pictures, so I really do need to build one. I just don’t know when, because I was thinking of redoing the Intrepid or doing a Klingon ship after this is done.

    • Thanks Eric. Though, it’s not really that clever. I just reasoned that, if diffusion affects the way the materials absorb light, it may work to tone down those shadows. I’m sure anybody who knows about CGI software and how materials and lights interact could have figured that out. πŸ˜‰

  2. MAX (well my antiquated version) has similar oddities. The manuals all seem to be written with the perspective that you know how it all works. 10 pounds of wasted paper.

    I have been ‘on the road’ for a while and have been eagerly watching this and the speed (noted above) at which you are proceeding. I am amazed. This is looking super!

    • Thanks a lot. πŸ˜€

      Fortunately, the Lightwave manuals are .pdf files because I don’t have the version with printed manuals. So, no wasted paper. πŸ˜‰ Seriously, though. One of the three manuals does tell you exactly how the whole shadows/no shadows thing works, it just doesn’t say that you have to save that information with the scene and not the model. Also, I’d assume you have to save the object in the scene to make it stay that way. But, no worries.

Leave a Reply

