22nd Century Starship pt. 07

It should be fairly obvious what I’ve been working on. πŸ˜‰ Needless to say, the saucer grids were very time consuming, but worth it in the end. The cut-outs on the side also took a bit of time, more than they should because there were extra verts in there interfering with the rounder. I had to find and eliminate those to get the edges rounded.

NXES037

NXES038

NXES039

NXES040

NXES041

NXES042

And now it’s time for a fun game: Spot the Error.

I made a mistake somewhere that has now been corrected. It’s blindingly obvious to me, but I want to see if anybody else can spot it. So, if anybody on either my blog or the three forums on which I post my work can tell me where and what it is, I’ll admit to it and tell everyone. If not, there is no mistake and it looks exactly as it was intended to look. πŸ˜› These aren’t the droids you’re looking for. πŸ˜‰ I’ll give you a hint: it has something to do with the saucer grid lines. (the big part of the saucer)

8 thoughts on “22nd Century Starship pt. 07

  1. Thanks a lot, guys. πŸ˜€

    @Rob: With what I did to fix it, it probably looks like something I intended to do. I just know it’s there and it bugs me, but I’ll get over it. πŸ˜‰

  2. Is it that elevation of the center part of the ship connected to the deflector? The NX variant was more flush.

    But yeah, this is a guess. I cant see anything ‘wrong’ either

  3. I think the difference between your model and the original drawing is the drawing does not have a flat saucer. The saucer seems to bow up from the middle section while yours goes straight out.

    • I’ve noticed the “raised” saucer. I’m not entirely sure it does go up on the edges, it may be the perspective. Unfortunately, John Eaves never did any more views of this ship, or any of the others. To his surprise, nobody asked for more views of anything. They just sent the drawings to the CGI people and they made ships. I intentionally didn’t do the “raised” edges because I wanted the saucer to look more mainstream. Plus, as I said, I’m not sure if that was his intent.

Leave a Reply

