Stuff

My cat died yesterday. His name was Felix and I’d had him since he was just 8 weeks old, back in June of 1998. So, needless to say, this cat and I were close. He was my faithful companion for nearly 15 years, he slept on my bed and hung with me a lot. He will be missed. I noticed over the weekend that he was starting to slow down, he was getting lethargic. Then he stopped eating on Monday and on Tuesday he was doing nothing but sleep. Yes, cats sleep a lot, but he was doing nothing but sleep and he wasn’t moving far and, when he did move, he had a pained look on his face. He spent more than 12 hours on the couch, which wasn’t like him (or any cat) at all, usually they get up and eat, run around, or use their litter boxes after a few hours of sleep. So, yesterday morning, I made the hard decision to have him euthanized. He was clearly dying, so I felt there was no reason to prolong his suffering, that’s just cruel in my book. So, it was a sad day.

Felix: April 9 1998 - April 17 2013

Felix: April 9, 1998 – April 17, 2013

Ironically, this unfortunate circumstance came about on the very same day when I was scheduled for a new AT&T U-Verse installation. Previously, we had Cincinnati Bell phone service and AT&T 1.5 MB/s DSL. Well, those two together were about $82/month, and were steadily increasing (2.5 years ago, that shit was a lot cheaper.) So, we got hooked up with a new bundle: U-Verse TV, phone and Internet for a little over $100/ month, including extras like a second TV receiver. So, I now have a lot of TV stations, including stuff I didn’t have before. There’s also a free DVR and service and a lot of other great stuff. The installer hooked us up with a new fiver optic line, which is required for U-Verse and a new junction box (that wasn’t necessary, but he figured he’d do that while he was doing the work.) So, we’re hooked up with the latest tech. The TV in the living room has the modem, router and DVR, while the rest of the house is on WIFI. Our Internet is a lot faster now, 6 MB/s, so I’ve been enjoying that. I can now watch HD videos like Steve Neill’s Garage without waiting for it to download some first, so I shouldn’t be skipping any more episodes of that series. 🙂 (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, follow Steve’s blog link in my blogroll) Plus, the price I’m paying is the price I’ll pay for 24 months, after which it will go up.

So, it was a different day yesterday, mixed with sadness over the passing of my cat and then happiness over the new AT&T hookup. On the subject of HD videos, I watched this last night because I really needed some laughs after my cat died:


Personally, I’ve been lukewarm about the idea of Disney now owning the Star Wars franchise and George Lucas’s other companies (those bastards already shut down LucasArts.) And they’ve announced 5 new Star Wars movies to be released annually, between 2015 and 2020. (some of which are to be directed by JJ “lens flares” Abrams) So, mixed emotions there. While it obviously won’t be as bad as the video above, I’m on a “wait and see” approach.

As far as me doing more CG work, it’s hard to say. With U-Verse, I may start watching more TV, and I often like to do stuff on the computer while I’m watching TV. So, I may pick at some CGI projects while I’m checking out the new TV service. (once they get my HD hooked up, which I had to call them about and is supposed to happen by 5 PM today) But, I make no promises. I do have some projects on which I want to start, some Star Wars and some other stuff. Plus, now that the weather is getting nice, I may start some work on those physical models that I mentioned at the end of last year. I was going to start in the Winter, but that’s ludicrous. It makes more sense to start in the Spring/Summer, especially in Ohio, where we have some pretty cold Winters. We’re starting to get up to the 60s and 70s in the daytime, so I should be able to get out to the garage and back patio for some painting. (I can just glue stuff in the house)

3 thoughts on “Stuff

  1. Thanks a lot, guys. I’m still in that entering a room and expecting him to still be there stage, but I’ll be OK. We always had cats and one dog growing up, so I’m used to the fact that they do eventually die. It doesn’t make it any easier, but I do know it’s inevitable.

Leave a Reply

