8-Cores and a New Tutorial

I know I haven’t been posting much lately, but I hope to change that in the near future. I’m probably going to do some “dirty” textures on the Constellation-class I finished a while back and then start a new build. I may also take some time to learn more about modeling in Blender, I haven’t decided yet.

Meanwhile, I took advantage of a Cyber Monday sale (on Monday, obviously :P) and bought some PC upgrades from Tiger Direct. Previously, my computer was running an ASUS LGA775 motherboard with an Intel Celeron 2.50 GHz Dual Core and 4GB DDR2 800 MHz RAM. It ran well for over two years and was still running well for CGI and gaming, but I wanted more power. (insert Tim Allen’s Home Improvement “More Power” thing here) So, I decided it was time for an upgrade. As people who know PCs know, upgrading a processor on an LGA775 is stupid. Even if you can find a processor for that board, it will probably be a Celeron, Pentium or Core2 Dual Core or a Core 2 Quad Core (yesterday’s tech.) Plus, it will probably be expensive. So, I obviously had to upgrade the motherboard. I chose a GIGABYTE AM3+ board with lots of goodies on it, including a lot of PCI Express slots, 4 RAM slots for up to 32GB RAM and lots of USB ports. I paired that up with an AMD FX-8120 processor, which is a 3.10 GHz 8-core processor and 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz RAM. I saved a shitload of money on that stuff and I love it. I got and installed everything on Wednesday and my computer has never been happier. Linux booted right up, as expected. Of course, since I moved my 1TB HDD to a new motherboard, I had to reinstall Windows 7. But, everything went well and it’s working great:

2012-11-28-164637_1600x900_scrot

System01

Index01

Ignore the stupid 4.9/7.9 on the Windows Experience Index. I could really give a damn how well it thinks it works with the Windows Aero desktop. It works fine, no matter what that idiotic thing says. I didn’t upgrade my graphics card because I have a perfectly good one that works great for gaming, no matter what that stupid thing says. What I haven’t figured out is the higher score for 3D Business & Gaming Graphics, which requires more graphics juice than the stupid desktop. What I like is the 7.5/7.9 on the Calculations Per Second and Memory Operations Per Second. πŸ˜€

Anywho, that’s lots of fun. Naturally, I had to try some rendering on it. TrueSpace was virtually useless as a test. It’s never been optimized to work any better with multiple cores, so it renders achingly slowly no matter how many you have. Blender, meanwhile, is a whole other story. I rendered a lightsaber I made a couple years ago. On my old rig, this took a few minutes to render. On the new one, it takes between 41 and 42 seconds. πŸ˜€

8-Core_Test01

So, I’m happy. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Also, I was mentioning the rendering thing and showing that image on 3DSciFi and a friend of mine asked where I got the brushed metal texture for the ‘saber. So, I told him I made it and told him I’d write a tutorial. So, I did. There’s a new tutorial at the top of the page called “Brushed Metal Texture.” It’s a short tutorial and will only take a few minutes to complete.

5 thoughts on “8-Cores and a New Tutorial

  1. I have to ask- I was looking at the Xavier-Badlands image on your Images page and just love the design- like a prototype ship that bridges the gap between Constitution Refit and Ambassador class. What can you tell me about it?

    • Thanks. I designed that about 4 or so years ago. It’s intended to have been a ship they designed to replace the Connie refit. However, the design wasn’t popular, so they designed the Excelsior. Though, they did wind up using the design as a science vessel. (Or something like that. ;))

  2. Nice Chris. I’m getting a new rig too next week. It’s being built now. a monster machine I only hope I have the time to do some new Lightwave stuff. Welcome to a new world!

Leave a Reply

