Trekkie Heaven

Yeah, that’s right. That’s me in front of the Big E. (the 11-foot filming model) I’m in Virginia very near to DC visiting my sister and niece and we went to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum today. Even though it’s in the gift shop, I had to get a picture of myself with the Enterprise, so my sister took one on her iPhone. Sure, it’s not the best quality image, but it’s me and the Big E. πŸ˜€ (I despeckled it a bit in Gimp.)

My niece had to get in on this one. πŸ˜€

We didn’t have time to go to the annex and see the Discovery or the SR-71 or anything like that today, but we got to see some cool stuff (besides the E.) We went on a tour and the guy leading the tour is really cool and knew a lot of cool things about the aircraft he covered. We got to see the Wright Brothers’ 1903 model and the Spirit of St. Louis and Amelia Earhart’s plane that she flew solo over the Atlantic in. And, of course, the space race planes like Chuck Yeager’s Bell X-1 and the orbital and moon capsules. Great stuff. πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “Trekkie Heaven

  1. A place I would love to see, not only to see the Enterprise either…. looks like you had a great time, I could even say “Super” :).

  2. Thanks guys. Yeah, good times. The museum is awesome. The tour was great, i learned all kinds of cool tidbits. And, of course, seeing the Enterprise in person was great. πŸ˜€

  3. Yes, amazing place. I dragged my wife in last we went. She actually enjoyed it more than she thought – she was doing me a favor. I need to get out to the annex as well and the Paul E. Garber facility (they have a Horten flying wing). I hung out in the Skylab exhibit for at least 30 minutes.

    • I didn’t see everything, the tour didn’t cover the entire museum, just some of the highlights. But there are always future visits. My sister lives very close to DC. I definitely want to get out to the Annex next visit. In fact, that’s actually closer to her house.

Leave a Reply

