Learning Lightwave 06

OK, here’s where I am. Needless to say, there was a lot of work involved in the front end of this engineering hull. I don’t know who decided to make this part this way back in the ’60s, but it’s not the easiest thing to replicate in 3D. Next up is the equally fun shuttlebay area.

BTW, if anybody who knows Lightwave has any idea why I’m getting those smoothing errors in the rear of the booleans cut when I render and how to fix them, please let me know. Here’s a screenshot showing the area to which I’m referring:

I followed Ger’s tutorial and everything looks good to me, but what do I know?

7 thoughts on “Learning Lightwave 06

  1. Well, looks good so far and when you consider you picked this as your project to learn on! Gee.

    If this were MAX I know exactly the problem but that’s no help. Sorry.

  2. are your naming each area´s as you build it or is it the same surface setting for all?…

    If your using the same surface setting (the smooth angle) for all the model. this could be the problem, and if you give this it own surface same, (umbilical connect or some thing like that) and change the smooth angle might help.

    I was concerned if my approach would work in this area and this is all I can think off at this time.

    But so far your work is looking awesome……

  3. I think there is a 1 point poly curve or chain whatever you want to call it. It’s a left over artifact from the boolean operation. So they are just hanging out. You can’t see them. They just mess up the smoothing. You need to delete them. Should be able to click on them or find them with “W” the statistics panel (click on poly on the bottom tab if your not already on polys instead for points. You should be able to find it there. Sorry don’t have Lightwave infront of me so can’t be totally specific.

  4. Actually, I tracked down the problem. None of it is non-planar or any leftovers, or anything like that. (I had previously ruled those out) The problem is in the way it’s constructed. All of those faces are at different angles and they’re catching the light differently. Basically, it’s a big FUBAR mess, but it’s (technically) modeled cleanly. I need to redo the area, I’m going to do it differently.

    The problem is, Ger did the tutorial in LW 9.6, where that apparently wasn’t a problem. It seems to be one in LW 10, though.

Leave a Reply

