Learning Lightwave, Pt. 03A

Unfortunately, I came to a major epiphany earlier. I was working on my engineering hull when I realized that, as much as I like them, I can’t continue using Alan Sinclair’s blueprints. I’ve been using them for years and I always noticed in trueSpace that things don’t match up perfectly from one view to another. Normally, this isn’t a big issue. However, as I was attempting to line something up on the build, I realized it was going to majorly mess up my engineering hull if I continued using Sinclair’s blueprints. So, I made the very tough decision to start from scratch using Charles Casimiro’s blueprints. I mean totally from scratch. A little while ago, I got done with Pt. 1 of Ger’s tutorial (again.) That’s the part that deals with modifying the blueprints and applying them to a stretched cube in Lightwave to use as a modeling reference. The good news is, the parts I’ve already done will go more quickly, the bad news is that it all has to be redone. After I give my back a break, (it’s still bothering me a bit, but not as much as it was a few days ago) I’m going to restart the build with the bridge and move forward from there. I don’t really want to do this, but it is necessary to keep my sanity. Unlike Sinclair’s blueprints, Casimiro’s are consistent from one view to another. So, expect to see some more of the same (but slightly different) build later. 😉

4 thoughts on “Learning Lightwave, Pt. 03A

  1. Yes, I found the same when I tried Sinclair´s blueprints. I spent some time seen if I can get them to work as backdrops, but alas no luck as they are really excellent drawing.

    When I was doing the tutorial I must have made and remade parts of the model over a dozen times to see if what I was doing held up each time.

    • I may try to do the ship with them, after I get more LW experience. Or, I may not. I wasn’t able to get the spline for the engineering section to line up with that disk you have us make. I could have done it, but the angle would have been to severe. The disk lined up perfectly with the bottom view and with the bottom of the hull in the right view, but not with the top of the hull in that view. Oh well, live and learn. Next time, when a tutorial is using a certain set of plans, I guess I shouldn’t do my own thing. 😉

    • Hey, thanks Eric. It was excruciating Wednesday, but it’s been getting progressively better. It’s doing a lot better now. I hope it will be all settled down by tomorrow, I have to work.

      Wow, after two or three posts where I mentioned that, you’re the only person to express any concern or well wishes about it. (BTW, the cat’s out of the bag. So, if anybody else mentions it, I’ll just assume you read this and felt guilty :P)

Leave a Reply

