More Lego Stuff, Pt. 01

Yes, it’s more Legos. If you were hoping to see something else, too bad. For some reason, this is the only 3D I’ve been in the mood to do lately.

I wasn’t in the mood to do any work on the Death Star today. That’s a huge project that’s going to take a while and I’m going to have to work on it bits at a time so that I don’t get burned out on it. So, in lieu of working on that, I decided to do one of the old space sets, the Star Cruiser. Now, for some reason, from time to time, Lego released the same kit twice with a different number. This one was released as set #487 and set #924. They’re identical (even the instructions) and both were released in 1978, so it makes no sense to me. Anywho, I went with 924 because the instructions were in better shape. Anywho, it turned out really well:

LeoCad had all of the parts for this though, for some reason, they only had the small bricks and minifig chest with the emblem with a black planet. Since the planet in this set and most of the others from back then is yellow, I recolored it in trueSpace. I plan to do more stuff from the classic space series. 🙂

On a side note: these are Legos. They’re bricks, you put them together normally. It’s all basic construction, which can easily be achieved in LeoCad. I was looking at instructions from some of the newer kits and I was shocked at how complex they’ve become. They have all of these odd bricks, cams and pins and whatnot. LeoCad doesn’t like the irregular stuff, it won’t line up correctly with the grid snap turned on. You have to do it manually. It can be done, but it’s a PITA. I prefer the classic Legos with simple construction.

6 thoughts on “More Lego Stuff, Pt. 01

  1. Looks really cool. I don’t even bother building in LeoCad. I just gets the parts I need and export them, then I do my building in Max. I’ve even started to rebuild some of the parts so I can get som nice bevels. That will take awhile to finish doing. I’m am getting the urge now to go buy some new kits. Must resist. 😀

    • Thanks bro. 😀 It’s easy for me to resist buying new Lego sets. I can’t afford them.

      I’ve thought about doing what you’re doing with building the parts in trueSpace, so that they can be used in tS4 and 7, but tS3 handles the LeoCad meshes so well that it’s not really an issue for me. Plus, I’m spoiled by the LeoCad parts library and snap tool. If I had to load parts and snap them myself, I don’t think I’d like it as well. 😉

  2. ^ I have to agree with that.
    BUt It anyoing that you have to flip faces and make correction to your meshes when you import them. It is also a pain that when imported into the Blender, it bring it in tri’s and not Quads, which Blender perfers.

    Nice classic ship.

    • Yeah, Blender has a lot of issues with them. The only program I have that will import them with no flipped faces or other garbage is tS3. I don’t know why, but it likes them just fine, other software doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

