ESF Pt. 2

Well, I wish I could say my first renders of 2012 were of something exciting, but they were “utility” renders. I had to test the lighting rig on the Atlantis, and it’s best to test those with no other lights in the scene. It’s a good thing I do these, because I had to move some lights and increase the intensity on some that were too weak and reduce the intensity on some that were too strong. Also, I didn’t have a light inside the impulse deflection crystal. So, all said and done, I spent most of my afternoon working on these and I rendered them each about 3 times to get the lighting where I want it.

Aside from lighting fixes, I also finished the textures and change impulse engines (you’ll see that in better lighting.) The old impulse engines were from version 1 of the Constellation-class, the ones that are on there now are from version 2. They’re more like what was on the TMP Enterprise.

Also, here’s a look at the Atlantis’ commanding officer, Captain Jenna Clarkson. She’s human, 33 years old and I’m thinking from Alpha Centauri (just to be different. ;))

(yes, I used the character creator in Star Trek Online to make her)

Anywho, that’s what I have for now. I’ll probably do a better picture of the Atlantis later tonight. BTW, this blog got 100,000+ hits in 2011. I have no clue what the numbers were for 2009 or 2010, but I’m pleasantly surprised. Expect more fun stuff for 2012. 😎

8 thoughts on “ESF Pt. 2

    • Thanks Eric. I was really surprised when I saw the number. I had initially trashed the e-mail without even looking at it but then I saw where Rob (Xfozzboute) had posted his results, so curiosity took hold and I had to look at mine.

      As for the Captain. Yeah, I guess she does look a bit like Janeway. (Maybe she’s Janeway’s mother ;)) Though, to me, she looks a lot like most of the other characters in STO. You only have 2 base head meshes to start with for most races, some only have 1, and it’s difficult to make characters not look related.

      And Happy New Year to you as well. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

