ESF

I had a funky idea a couple days ago. I think it would be cool to do a Star Trek series that’s kind of a mix of The MOD Squad, The Expendables and Star Trek. The idea is to have a bunch of Starfleet officers who were maybe kicked out of Starfleet or are close to being kicked out. They get a ship of their own and go around doing dangerous missions that nobody else wants to do. They would (of course) be called the Expendable Starfleet Force. (yes, it’s only a minor coincidence that it has the same initials as my blog ;))

Next, I had to decide what kind of ship such a force would use. Obviously, Starfleet isn’t going to give a group of misfits a really new or good ship, they’d want the ship to be as expendable as the people flying it. So, I went through my folders of meshes and I came across a really fugly Constitution-class kitbash I did at one point. It’s kind of a mix of parts from different models that I flung together to make a background ship. It’s nothing that Starfleet would use for one of its ships of the line, but more of a ship they’d have around for really shitty missions. Naturally, my force would need such a ship. So, I’m working on retexturing it.



I still have more lights to do and a few more textures, but this is where it stands. I gave it a really grungy look, to make it look like it’s an old ship that’s seen a lot better days. The mismatched parts can be blamed on half-assed refits to keep it operational. (somebody swapped out a part and then threw a coat of paint on it to match the rest)

Anywho, I’ve been trying to think of a hook for a Star Trek fan fiction series. I’ve thought of doing pre-TOS, after Nemesis, non-Starfleet, but none of it really excited me. Then I had the thought to do something with Starfleet, but something that’s different from what’s been done before. Then it took me a while to think of this. I might start working on a rough draft for a story with my ship of misfits in the next few days. πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “ESF

  1. Thanks guys. Now we’ll just have to see if I can actually develop it, or if it winds up where all of my other fan fiction ideas have (nowhere.) Though, I think this is the hook I’ve been searching for. I’m going to incorporate a few of my other ideas into it, to get things moving faster. πŸ™‚

    One thing I know for certain, the ship’s captain is going to be about my age (I’m 32) and a woman. Also, this will be a 24th century tale, so that the ship is properly “aged.”

  2. Great idea Chris, but I would lose “a bunch officer that are on the edge of being kicked out of Starfleet, taking on missions no one else wants.”
    No one is going to give a group of personal like that a ship, even if it a shitty ship.
    That story line also been done to death.

    You want a group of officers that don’t work well with the stright arrow types. They like to do things their own way to get the job done instead of by the book.
    They should be a group of officers that take on the dirty jobs, not because no else wants them, but becasue this is what they live for.

    While they are a bunch of misfits on their own, which no one like. When put toghter they working as team, that even though they are still not liked they are well respected.

    • Thanks for sharing your input, Dean. Yeah, I’m still refining it. (this idea is literally two days old) I’m leaning towards not going so much with the kicked out bit, but they’ll definitely be the types who play by their own rules. I’m thinking the female captain is going to be more of a Kirk-like character, but in Picard’s time. If you think about it, the kind of stuff Kirk did a lot of in the 23rd century wouldn’t fly in the 24th, they were more “straight and narrow.” (things were starting to change in the movies) So, I’m thinking more of that classic type of character, but out of place. It will start with her being in trouble with Starfleet, though. I’d initially thought to have her be a person who was kicked out of the service, but I’m thinking more that she’s on the verge of a court martial for taking matters in her own hands against the orders of her superiors. Even though doing what she did was the right thing to do, they’re still penalizing her for it because she disobeyed orders. That way, she can still be edgy but not come off as a total fuck up. πŸ˜‰

      I’m thinking of making at least a few of her officers troublemakers, though. The types who have skills she needs but who have stepped on so many toes and gotten in trouble so much that their only option is to join her crew. (nobody else wants them) And, of course, we’ll have to have some “gung-ho” types who just want to get out and get shit done without all the red tape. It will be a varying crew for sure, not the “best and brightest” that we always seem to get on the TV shows. They will work as a team, though.

      As for the missions “nobody else wants,” I plan to keep that hook. That in itself isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it just means that the missions they take will be high risk and the crew will be in constant peril.

      Anywho, that’s where I’m at right now. I’m still working it out. I’ll probably start writing up a few character bios later tonight or tomorrow and maybe start on my rough draft. I haven’t done creative writing for a while, I’m looking forward to it. πŸ™‚ (also, that logo is screaming for some more work)

  3. I like the idea, but I lean opposite of where Dean was going. I like the idea of a group of officers and crew that if they were to take on a mission and fail (never to be seen again), Starfleet wouldn’t lose any sleep. They might even think it was a relief that they were gone.

    You KNOW that no one is coming to rescue them.

Leave a Reply

