Endeavour in Drydock

This is part of a fan fiction thing that I’m working on (more on that later.) I’ll eventually be releasing the fiction as .pdf files with both text and some CG illustrations, this is for the first “episode.” I rendered it in desktop size, for people who want to use it as such, it will (obviously) be much smaller in the .pdf file, but I’ll rescale it later. Anywho, here it is:

On an “isn’t that weird?” note, I was getting ready to do the post processing on this in Gimp earlier. I’m running Kubuntu 11.04 and I installed Gimp 2.6.11 earlier. So, I went to run Gimp by clicking the icon and it wouldn’t start. It looked like it was starting, but it wouldn’t. So, I tried a direct command (/usr/bin/gimp-2.6) and it still wouldn’t run. So, I rebooted and then my Gimp icons were gone. I uninstalled and reinstalled Gimp and I still had no icons. So, I created one in the menu with the command /usr/bin/gimp-2.6 and now it runs like it should. Sometimes, (usually just when I think I have a handle on something) I swear I don’t know what the frack computers and/or software are “thinking.”

14 thoughts on “Endeavour in Drydock

  1. Do you still use trueSpace, or have you switched to Blender?
    And would you consider doing tutorials on starship modeling? These are some of the best I’ve ever seen, and I’d love to know how you do it (besides the practice part) 🙂

    • I still use trueSpace, I kind of gave up learning Blender last year because I was working on a project where I had to have actual skills, there was no time for learning as I went. And I haven’t been able to talk myself into trying it again.

      If I were to do tutorials, in which program would you like to see them, trueSpace or Blender? I don’t feel qualified to do modeling tutorials in Blender, though I might be able to do some in trueSpace. I’d probably have to familiarize myself more with the latest free version, 7.6, I mostly use an older version for rendering. However, that wouldn’t be too much of a problem.

  2. I’m not sure how different the interface is between programs, but I would imagine that some trueSpace tutorials that cover the ‘technique’, as it were (rather than the actual modeling process, which would be application specific) would be helpful.
    I just know, from what rudimentary starship modeling I’ve done, that it can be a real pain, and I figure you must have some kind of system that would be transferable to pretty much any application.
    Looking at your step-by-step updates on new ships you’re creating has been very interesting, but frustrating, too, since I can’t for the life of me figure out how the ships get from one step to the next. Maybe if you made a series of videos covering the next ship you construct, it would be sufficiently enlightening… 🙂

    • Tutorials really only work in the program for which they were intended. Trust me, I mostly know what I’m doing in trueSpace, but I feel completely lost in Blender. Techniques that work in trueSpace don’t in Blender, and I’m sure the reverse is true.

  3. Yeah, I suppose that’s true…
    Well, for my personal information, how do you create windows? Some variation on madkoifish’s boolean intersect way?
    And what program do you use for the final renders?

    • I use trueSpace for everything, it’s a complete program like Blender is. (though, Blender is newer and has more features) For windows, I use booleans subtraction. It’s similar to what Madkoifish does, only slightly different. I’m thinking of building another Constitution-class and making a tutorial showing how I do it. After that, I might do some tutorials for some slightly more complex ships.

  4. Wow…trueSpace must have an outstanding internal renderer, then. Most people use LuxRender or some other external one for Blender.
    I look forward to the tutorials, if that comes off!

    • I know a lot of people who use the internal Blender rendering. I think it’s nice also. But, to each his own. tS has a pretty good one, though I usually do a lot of post work in Gimp. The problem with using an external rendering program is that there are few programs that will import Caligari objects and scenes, which are the trueSpace defaults. Blender used to (but it was a mess) but they don’t anymore. And, of course, when you export to .obj, there are issues, including loss of quality on parts. That’s mostly why I stick with the internal tS rendering.

Leave a Reply

