The Whole Damn Fleet

I may be going insane. Though, I will have to consult with the voices in my head before I can make a firm diagnosis. šŸ˜€

Apparently, for reasons unknown to me, I decided it would be a good idea to do a fleet shot with my TMP-era ships. 11 ships in all. Though some are the same mesh, none have the same name or registry markings. This picture either proves that I am going nuts or, at the very least, that I have spent way too much time modeling Star Trek ships from the TMP era. Though, to my credit, I didn’t do a fleet shot of my TOS ships (yet.) Now, that would be insane. šŸ˜‰

I also decided to render in 1080p for a change. That makes it a bit easier to see the registries on the back ships, though they’re still pretty small. However, the image was unbalanced and there was wasted space at the top, so I “letterboxed” it.

16 thoughts on “The Whole Damn Fleet

  1. WOW! Amazing stuff šŸ˜€ Now all this picture needs is a cool Title …………… I would not worry too much about the time spent because i spent 6 hours today searching Trek Core for usable MACO pictures for avatars [Very very few usable one btw and i finished half of Season 3]

    P.S: Did u mate the Constitution class with the Constellation class Nacelles???

    Some very minor nitpicks, I think the USS Xavier, bottom right ship needs to lose a digit [17064 as of now]

    Overall, Yowza! My desktop wallpaper for now šŸ˜€

    • This picture is from the early 24th century, after the Xavier was built. šŸ˜‰ I’ve been thinking of dialing back that registry a bit, I just haven’t done it yet.

      By “Constitution-class with Constellation-class nacelles,” are you referring to the two ships with nacelles on top and an engineering hull underneath? That’s a design that has been around for ages, I built it a couple years ago. It’s mostly a kitbash, though I also built some parts specifically for it. In fact, the ship towards the center of the image that looks most like an Enterprise-refit style Constitution-class is actually a ship that I built using parts from the Phase II ship (back left) and that other ship.

      Thanks a lot. šŸ™‚

  2. Wow! Awesome– this is the kind of thing I’ve been wanting to see from you for a long time. What class ship is the one to the left of the Constellation at the rear– I really like that one. I’d also love to see all your TOS ships in one place, but I understand the logistics of placing 30+ uber-complex models in one scene…

    • Thanks. šŸ™‚

      Actually, not counting the fact that I have at least 3 Enterprises, I only have 15 TOS ships in my fleet. Three different ones are the Constitution-class in its various versions, Pilot 1, Pilot 2 and Series. I’m working on that composition right now. It actually has 16 ships in it because I have two Series Connies in there, the Enterprise and the Essex. šŸ˜‰

      Next to the Constellation-class in the rear is a ship just like the Xavier in front. It just has different textures and a different name and registry. (USS Eratosthenes NCC-2276, that was the original name and number of the ship) I stuck it in the back because its textures aren’t up to the quality of the front ship.

  3. Wow, only just noticed that its a kitbash and not the refit connie šŸ˜€ Seriously awesome work!!!

    BTW, just curious. Did u take part in the STO design the Enterprise F competition?

  4. Are there any more single-ship-shots of that small one infront of the Heracles? I seem to remember having seen one a feww years back, but I haven’t been able to find it since.

  5. Right, thanks a lot. Would probably have found it myself if I’d remembered the class name. As it is I searched through every tag on this post, but only found info on most of the other ships.

  6. This and your other picture looks so freak’n cool. Do you do a composit or all those in one scene. My computer would die If I tried that, Than come back as a zombie computer and try to eat my flesh. šŸ˜€

    • Um, you may watch too many zombie movies. But who am I to judge? I most likely watch way too much Star Trek. šŸ˜‰

      Yes, big composite. Every ship is rendered individually for this one and then put together in Gimp. I couldn’t get two of these to render at once. But I anticipated this problem and made sure to set up the lighting so that no ship casts visible shadows on any other. For the TOS one, I was able to render the ships in batches of 2 and 3 because the textures are of lower quality (though, they rendered pretty well at 1080p.) I just ran out of texture memory on this one, so I had to render them one at a time.

Leave a Reply

