Shaking Off the Cobwebs

OK, things just haven’t been going too well for me in the 3D area lately.  I’ve been in a huge slump for months not (unless you count buying and playing 3D games, then I’m actually ahead of the game. ;))  My Star Wars project fizzled.  I had some ideas but I couldn’t get the parts right for one of the ships and eventually lost interest.  So, it’s back to the drawing board.  However, I did manage to render a little something earlier.  It’s not much but it’s at least something:

I think it’s working, I’m starting to feel the modeling bug again. 🙂 I’m going to hit my references folder later and see if anything jumps out at me.  If not, there’s also the internet.  I’ve also been looking at changing 3D software but none of the free programs I’ve been trying are really doing anything for me.  Blender is the closest but I still don’t like it that well.  I might have to look into commercial software.  Lightwave is a possibility.  It’s over $2,000 less than 3DS Max and Maya and it is some great software.  I downloaded a 30-day trial to see how I like it. 🙂

Anywho, hopefully, more to come soon.

6 thoughts on “Shaking Off the Cobwebs

  1. Have you ever thought about moving into TMP era for the Enterprise? The refitted Constitution Class is my favorite Enterprise design. (Without the “bloody A”, etc.)

    Great stuff, BTW.

  2. Nice render, bro.

    I’ve been looking at Modo again, ever since I found that Rick Baker (yes, the special effects guru) enjoys using that software and calls it “intuitive”.

    Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks Eric. 😀

      I’ve looked at Modo but haven’t tried it. Maybe I need to DL that free trial also. 🙂 It’s about $100 more than Lightwave, but it might be worth it. Though, I’ve also been looking at Lightwave 8 & 9 on EBay, you can save hundreds of dollars by getting older versions. (I don’t think I want to go any older than that, though)

      I didn’t know that about Rick Baker likes Modo, that’s certainly an influence. Though, on the same token, Doug Drexler likes Lightwave, so that’s a great influence also. 🙂

  3. Brickhead loves Lightwave too, and of course, Lightwave was extensively used on the later Star Trek television series over the years, and was used (if I’m not mistaken) on the Starship Troupers animated TV show. Hmm. I’m an advertisement! LOL!

    • There was a Starship Troopers animated TV show? I didn’t know that. Lightwave, Max and Maya are used mostly in movies and TV, which is used depends on what company is doing the effects. I know Doug’s company uses Lightwave. Now, I can get an educational version of Max or Maya on EBay, (I guess, as long as you’re a student, it’s legal to sell those) for only about $20-$35 but the educational version puts little watermarks on your renders to keep you from using it commercially. Of course, as long as you’re not using it commercially, I guess that’s better than paying almost $3,500 for it. Still, I’ll probably go the Lightwave route. (though, I might get an educational version of Max just because I can ;)) If I had $200 to spare, I’d put in a bid on EBay, someone has Lightwave 9.6 (supposed to be new) with a starting bid of only $200.

Leave a Reply

