From the Depths of the Backup Drives 04

I haven’t done one of these for a while.  A lot of my really old CGI crap was lost either due to a HD failure in 2005 or to corrupt backup CDs (that’s why I use flash drives now.)  However, I was over at 3D Gladiators and I found some old crap in the gallery.  Most of this junk is between 4 and 5 years old.  The models are low poly and horrible, the textures are just dreadful and we won’t even talk about the lighting. (wretched)  Anywho, here they are.

This was about 4 Enterprises ago. It was made by glancing at pictures and modifying primitives.

The Enterprise rebranded.

This was the start of a series of dreadful pics featuring these meshes. I hadn't built the Enterprise yet, which is why it's absent

Reworked version, after the Enterprise was completed.

The last of that series (fortunately.) Note the logo: apparently, I hadn't learned about transparency yet.

Look familiar? This POS model is the basis for the USS Allura.

This was the height of my FX talent back then (so, at least some things haven't changed.)

Another dreadful model. Most everybody can probably tell where the inspiration for this one came from.

Sadly, I still kind of like this one. I might have to revisit it with a different mesh.

This one was a TOS-era medium cruiser, loosely based on the Ambassador-class. I might have to build a new version of it, I kind of like it. This was also the mesh for which I started to teach myself how to make textures.

3 thoughts on “From the Depths of the Backup Drives 04

  1. But look how far you have come! Your old stuff is pretty good when you consider you were (admittedly)just figuring out trueSpace! I love the old TOS Defiant 🙂

    • I’d been using trueSpace (off and on) for about 6 years at that point. Though, in those 6 years, I guess I learned nothing of value. 😉

      Thanks bro. 🙂 I was thinking of maybe redoing that old Defiant, we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

