The Rejects Pile

Sorry for the leanness of posts lately, I’ve been hard at work on a top secret project.  (Not really top secret, I just didn’t feel like blabbing about it.)  Anywho, over the past several months I’ve been submitting images to our good friend Doug Drexler for the 2012 Ships of the Line calendar in hopes of landing something on the calendar.  These images were all submitted to Doug at one point or another.  Since none of these made it,  I think it’s safe to say that I can post them here.

This was my original submission. Admittedly, it's not that inventive, though this was my first submission of artwork to ANYTHING, so I started small and also included a link back here. Doug was really cool about it and mentioned the possibility of doing a split image to show fans more than one side of this ship, since it's a largely unknown design.

The split screen image. I'm only lukewarm about this one myself, I try to image it with a crease down the center for the page but I still don't like it that well. Also, I'm glad it didn't get selected because making the planet large enough for a calendar piece would have been problematic.

I initially sent Doug the original of this with just the ship, dock and shuttles but he wanted "more business." I like a lot of ships in my scenes also, so I was happy to oblige, but the setup made it more difficult than other setups would have to add more ships and shuttles to the piece. I did get to try something I've always wanted to, though, which was to add the moon to a NASA photo. It turned out pretty well, IMO, though I don't like it quite as well with the added stuff (except the moon) due to the setup.

Anywho, that’s it for now.  I’ll probably still be incognito for a while because there are projects to be worked on, things to be done, but I’ll try to drop by once in a while with a post about something, even if I have to make something up.

6 thoughts on “The Rejects Pile

  1. well craig fey used your model of the TOS Enterprise in his entry so your work isn’t completely rejected…

Leave a Reply

