Goldilocks Planet

If you don’t understand the reference in the title, Google it. (and pay more attention to NASA)

This is my 2nd attempt at creating a planet in Blender, we won’t be discussing the first attempt. I kinda followed a tutorial, though the tutorial images were so blurry that this might as well be all me. Though, some things the guy typed to accompany the images did point me in the right direction, so we’ll at least give him a nod for that. Anywho, here it is:

I made the planet using about a half a dozen different spheres and 8k textures that I made myself.  Blender definitely has more material options than trueSpace, there are a lot of things that I did that I couldn’t have done in tS, besides using 8k textures.

12 thoughts on “Goldilocks Planet

  1. How about a tutorial? I am familiar with the making of planets in Terragen but in Blender. would love to learn how to do them

    • I’m working on the tutorial now. I can’t believe it, I’m a Blender noob and I’m working on a tutorial. 😉

      At least it’s good practice, to see if I can make the planet twice. 😉

    • You mean the planet NASA recently found? I don’t know, I think they need to get a probe or something closer to it to confirm what they think they found. I’m sure they’re working on it.

    • Thanks bro. Yeah, I was comparing notes with Madkoifish on 3DSciFi and he was telling me how he makes planets in Max. It’s similar, but the tools have different names. Also, Max does appear to have an ability that I haven’t figured out how to do in Blender: the ability to create atmospheric “glow” which will be required for closer shots. Though, I think I can fake it in Blender for close shots. I guess it’s a good thing that it really isn’t visible from a distance, because it doesn’t look right from a distance in Blender.

      • Yeah, that’s something I’ve never been able to figure out either. I can create an overall glow effect, but I can’t get it to fade out when it reaches the shadow side. Try working with constraints, though– you can set up a 1/2 and 1/2 glow/dark sphere, then set it to always face the sun lamp at a certain angle. I just haven’t really played with it, but I know it’s possible. Blender’s VERY powerful, Chris– I know there are a lot of aspects to it that seem daunting, but they’re well worth it to learn; I’ve been using Blender for almost a year and I haven’t even scratched the surface. Imho, Blender will give you far better results than anything else you can get for free. Btw, the 2.54 beta is out, and apparently it addresses some issues 2.53 was having. Still haven’t played with it too much…

      • I have 2.54 beta for Linux. I haven’t done much with it besides load and render some stuff. I actually tried doing the planet in 2.54 but I couldn’t find some of the texture settings that I know where they are in 2.49. I also tried doing the atmosphere glow in it after I had the planet done but I couldn’t figure it out in that one either.

Leave a Reply

