Blender Sabers pt2

This is pretty much it for the first craptastic saber.  It’s not meant to be anything that beautiful, I just wanted to try modeling something in Blender and I did.  It resembles Obi-Wan’s lightsaber too much for me to call it my own and it’s not accurate enough for me to call it Obi-Wan’s lightsaber.  So, I’ll leave it be.

Meanwhile, I’ve started on a new lightsaber hilt.  This one is in the same basic style as the original trilogy hilts but the parts aren’t the same as they are on those hilts.  So, you can say it’s different but familiar.  I still have some detail work to do.  Aside from trying to learn Blender modeling, I’ve also attempted to improve the materials.

14 thoughts on “Blender Sabers pt2

  1. The first saber does not look that bad. But the second looks much better.

    Now that you have mastered that in Blender, I think your ready to try something a little more difficult. 😉

  2. Hey, looks good. Are you using the stock procedural textures? I find that I can’t get the bump maps to show up using texture plugins.

    • Thanks dude. Even though I’ve made more of them, I don’t like the ‘sabers from the newer movies as well. I’ve only made more of them because I found some great schematics online. I used to have some schematics for the original trilogy hilts that someone e-mailed to me but I lost them.

  3. You should totally try to do a ship in blender, your work is great!

    you should do a starship modeling tutorial in TrueSpace, (for those of us who have no idea how to use it) and later on another in blender.

    Just a suggestion, your work is the best i have seen.

    just a suggestion.

    • Thanks, though I’ve found that Blender’s way of doing things and mine don’t exactly gel. I’ve been thinking of trying a simple Constitution-class in Blender but I haven’t worked up the energy to try yet. Maybe after I get some big projects cleared I’ll give it a go. My other thought is to DL the Lightwave demo and see how I like it. It might be worth splurging to get LW, since I’ve heard it’s closer to trueSpace than Blender is.

    • I don’t respond to it at all. Primarily, I use the 12-year-old version anyway. However, I am seriously considering switching to something else and it has nothing to do with the fact that it isn’t being developed anymore, I’ve just outgrown it. There are things I want to do but I can’t due to its limitations.

Leave a Reply

