Brisbane-class V2.0 pt4

I started on the warp pylons earlier.  I made a big mistake with version 1.  I decided I didn’t want to do a curved piece because it causes a lot of smoothing errors in trueSpace.  So, for the last two years, the most frequently asked question about this ship has been;  do the nacelles move?  Answer:  No, they fracking don’t!  Geez, just because you make something that LOOKS like a hinge, people assume that you’ve got a Voyager complex.  So, after about an hour of modeling and two hours of smoothing error cleanup and test-rendering (which was most of the time followed by more cleanup) I have the curved pylons done.  There’s nothing that even looks remotely like a hinge, so I shouldn’t have to worry about people jumping to the wrong conclusions.

8 thoughts on “Brisbane-class V2.0 pt4

  1. Hi,

    Great work with this and your previous endeavors. I’m an aspiring 3d artist myself, and have been having trouble with a number of niggling details that seem too time-consuming and/or complicated to accomplish in any way that’s obvious to me. MY main peeves right now are the windows and inlays like the deflector grid. I know there are certainly workarounds, but since you obviously know what does work, I might as well ask you. Also, do you know anything about manifold objects? Do I just have to start with an unbroken mesh, or is there a practical way to make a mesh watertight?

    • Well, how to do windows and deflector grid depends on the software you’re using. In a lot of software, there’s something called booleans subtraction. That’s the best way I know of to do it using the software I’m using. However, there are better ways in other software.

      And, no, I don’t know what a manifold object is. Also, I don’t know what you mean by making an object watertight. What software are you using?

  2. Using Blender right now, and lemme tell you, it’s a dream! There’s a bit of a learning curve, but once you know the ropes you can do mostly anything. I was using old bootleg copies of Rhino and Cinema4D before this, and they were a bit more user-friendly, but I’ve been able to get much better results out of Blender (I’m assuming C4D needs a workstation-grade GPU in order to shine).

    Boolean subtraction was my first guess, but it’s a bit clunky in some cases. Do you have any sort of system you use? My first instinct would be to create a couple groups of meshes that would serve as standard window groupings, arrange them where I want, then subtract them, but I find that interferes with the UV map. I haven’t tried it in blender yet, so I might as well give it a shot.

    I’m not 100% sure what a manifold object is, but it’s needed for 3d printing, and is very hard to do automatically– that’s also what I mean by watertight. I think I’m having some success with the model I’m currently working on. I’ll send you a link to that, and hopefully we can trade some tips and tricks. I’m planning on starting up a 3d blog once I get some better samples of my work rendered. I do like how you’re posting each step along the way– maybe that will be the way to go for me. Anyway, thanks!

    http://picasaweb.google.com/lonniemcafee/NewCG?authkey=Gv1sRgCKqun-iv3-jCEQ&feat=directlink

    • Ah, yes, Blender. I have a couple copies but I don’t understand it. (it’s millions of miles away from trueSpace) However, setting up groups of windows and then using booleans to subtract them is the best way I know of. That’s how I do it. In trueSpace, it does mess up your UV mapping but I re-map everything later anyway, so it doesn’t matter.

      As for grid lines in Blender, I have no clue. Someone was explaining how to do it to someone else on a forum and it wasn’t making any sense to me.

  3. I used a really old version of TrueSpace when I really didn’t know what I was doing. Maybe I’ll dig it back up and give it a try. I do suggest you take the time to learn Blender– you won’t be disappointed. One tip: The UI is completely customizable, and you can save the default as whatever you want, so I pretty much have it set up as a carbon copy of C4D.

Leave a Reply

