Brisbane-class V2.0 pt 1

This is something I’ve been thinking of doing for a while now but haven’t gotten around to it yet.  In fact, even after I committed to the project last week, I got a late start because I got into playing some old video games, especially Goldeneye 007.  Well, I beat it (again) so now I can go on with my life and my project.  😉

For those who don’t know, the Brisbane-class is a ship I built back in the golden years (2008) and it’s one of my favorite models.  However, there are many things that are icky about it, especially the impulse area.  The engine vents themselves are just plain fugly.  Also, a lot of the little sensor doodads are kit bashes from some of my earlier models instead of building new bits.  That won’t happen this time.  This time it will be completely scratch-built.  (with the exception of bits that are the same, which will be built and then copied and possibly mirrored, but that goes without saying)  The basic design will remain the same as will the size of the ship.

For those who came in late:

Even as Starfleet Command was refitting and replacing its aging fleet of Constitution-class Heavy Cruisers, they knew that would only extend the life of the class for a few more decades.  That and the reports of both the Klingon and Romulan Empires developing newer, faster, larger, more powerful starships made Starfleet Command decide to develop a newer, faster, larger more powerful Heavy Cruiser.

Starfleet’s Advanced Starship Design Bureau commissioned dozens of teams to come up with the new ship.  Several designs were developed, ranging from not much different from the Constitution-class to the more exotic.  Finally, one design was selected to go to prototype, named the Brisbane-class Heavy Cruiser.  However, the prototype proved to be not all Starfleet wanted from its new ship.  It was only a little larger than the Constitution-class and, while it was more powerful and faster, it wasn’t enough in the eyes of Starfleet Command.  That and the development of the much larger Excelsior-class, which promised a new transwarp drive, caused Starfleet Command to abandon the Brisbane-class.

That, however, was not the end for the Brisbane-class.  Starfleet Command decided shortly after abandoning the project to revitalize it.  The Brisbane prototype was refitted as a science vessel.  Though it had failed to meet Starfleet Command’s requirements for its new Heavy Cruiser, it exceeded their requirements for a long range Science Cruiser.  It was larger, faster and more powerful than any other science vessel in the fleet.  It also had longer range, making it the logical choice for deep space science missions.  So, the Brisbane-class was put into production as a Science Cruiser.

That’s my little BS back story that I came up with when I built the ship the first time.  In the real world, I was attempting to blend the TOS-movie style Enterprise (or Enterprise refit, if you prefer) and the Excelsior designs and throw some other stuff into the mix.  I decided to make the ship a science vessel because too many fan designs are Heavy Cruisers or warships (which makes no sense as Starfleet didn’t really build warships until the threat of the Borg and Dominion presented themselves in the 2360s, as was stated on DS9 in the episode The Search.)  Plus, even though I never did well in science in school, I think having a big ship that’s essentially a large, long range science lab is a cool concept.

Anywho, this is where I am so far.  I did the saucer yesterday and the engineering section earlier today.  I wanted to at least get the grid lines and windows cut on the engineering section but I had things to do and what is done on that section so far represents a few hours’ worth of work.

5 thoughts on “Brisbane-class V2.0 pt 1

    • Yeah, it was a bit easy again. Of course, I hadn’t played it in years, so I didn’t up the skill level, I played it at the agent skill level. It gets a bit rougher at the secret agent and 00 agent skill levels. You have more objectives and your enemies are better marksmen and don’t go down as easily. You can take most everyone out with 1 or 2 shots in the lowest skill level.

Leave a Reply

