New Rig

I ordered a new case for my PC the other day. It’s the Antec 600 gaming case. So, my problems with PC cooling are a thing of the past. This thing is HUGE. My micro ATX motherboard seems so tiny in there. However, it’s a good thing I have a micro ATX because the front HD audio port wire barely reaches the HD audio connector on the bottom of the MB. Cooling is no longer an issue, the two included fans (120mm in the rear, 200mm on the top) and the 120mm intake fan I added have my PC running about 20 degrees cooler than it was in the old case. My MB now idles in the mid 80s (Fahrenheit) where it was over 100 (idle) before and it heated up a LOT when I played games. Now it doesn’t heat up much at all, it stays in the mid 80s, even when I use my graphics card a lot. The CPU still heats up to around 150 degrees but I need a better cooler than the stock Intel one if I want to correct that. However, it also idles in the mid 80s.

Anywho, it’s a great case, plenty of room and lots of cooling. The instructions were horrible, I had to download the manual in .pdf format but I didn’t know that until I had the PC torn apart and components strewn about my dining room. And NOTHING, not even the manual, tells you which screw is which, they just come in a zipper bag. I haven’t had a case with screws for a few years, I tried screwing in my HD with a screw that was too small (it’s for screwing in the optical drive) and it was a pain in the ass to get that screw back out. Also, I connected the front LED lights wrong because I had to use the MB instructions but I didn’t know which side of the wire was positive and which was negative. But I downloaded the manual after everything was together and fixed that. Other than those small issues, it was pretty smooth sailing.

You can see the old tower in the desk cubby next to the wall. That's where the tower is supposed to go but this thing is such a beast that it doesn't fit well there, there's only about an inch or two of clearance between the top fan and my printer shelf. So, I put it on the floor.

The guts. The camera I borrowed to take these is pretty spiffy. That rear fan is spinning at 1500 RPM but it looks like it's not moving in this image.

This one is kinda blurry. I tried sharpening it but I'm not good at that sort of thing. And I don't have the camera anymore, so I can't take another.

Anywho, for those who don’t care about this stuff and just want CGI, I should be back to that shortly.Β  I’ve got ideas for a couple of projects that I’ll start on in the next day or two.Β  πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “New Rig

  1. Be careful about dust build-up when you have the computer case on the floor. You may want to open the case up every month or so and vacuum it out.

    • Probably about every 2 weeks, given how dusty my place is. I’ve had PCs on the floor before, I know how bad it is. In fact, prior to a couple months ago when I bought this desk, that was where my PC sat.

    • Yeah, too bad the camera flash was on (and I didn’t know how to turn it off.) It looked even cooler in person because the desk was causing the whole case to be in a shadow and the innards were lit only by the blue LEDs in the fans. πŸ™‚ However, the camera flash completely ruined that effect.

  2. Nice Case.

    Dust can be a right B***!! I got mine just off the floor, but still need to hover it out once a week.
    I got wooden floor, as soon as you swaped up a spot it dusty again. I want to but carpet down but the misses say no.

    The dust has already fired my media box, which I could not open to clean out.

    • Yeah, dust is the enemy of all things electronic. It’s definitely better having carpet than hard floors because the dust sticks to the carpet. I remember when I was in Afghanistan in late 2002, we destroyed about 3 PlayStation 2 systems because the dust kept getting inside and wreaking havoc. After a while, we had the cover off of one and had used parts from the others to keep it running (for a while.)

      Fortunately, the PC case has air filters. Vacuuming them regularly is a small price to pay to keep the PC running. Though, I might try putting the computer on the shelf and see how the temps are. The air does blow out of the top fan, it’s just very close to the printer shelf. It probably won’t be a problem but I’ll see how the temps are. If they’re mostly the same as they are on the floor, I’ll leave it on the shelf.

Leave a Reply

