Heracles Desktops

Here are a couple new desktops that I rendered of the recently completed Heracles v2.0 model.  I made the planet in the first one (obviously) but for the 2nd, I raided the searchable ISS & Space Shuttle gallery that can be found through www.nasa.gov (in the multimedia section.)  There’s no way in hell I could do that kind of planet render in trueSpace because the max texture resolution is way too low, so I found a nice photo that someone shot from one of the shuttles while in orbit.  And, of course, I resized it (the original was over 4k W & H) and cropped it to a 16:9 aspect ratio.

Anywho, these were a lot of fun to do.  I hope people enjoy them.   I’m working on some orthos for this ship but it’s slow going because they take a while to render and because I keep playing PC games instead of rendering.  I really need to play some Playstation games so that I can render at the same time but I keep not doing that.

4 thoughts on “Heracles Desktops

  1. Or, instead of a PlayStation, you could get another computer. Unless you’re playing cutting-edge games, nowadays you can get (or build) a good gaming rig for the price of a game console.

    Plus, you can do other things that play games with it, too.

    🙂

    • Technically, I have another computer. I don’t have a case for it but I have the motherboard, processor, RAM, drives, cables, PS, etc. from my old rig. However, I used the case to build my current PC, so it’s just a bunch of components.

      What I really need to do is start playing one of my long and involved PS2 games (or one of the old Final Fantasy PS1 games on the PS2) so that I can get some rendering done. 😉

    • “You’ll put yer eye out, kid” (I dunno why but that just popped into my head when I read your comment about going blind, even though I haven’t seen that movie for at least a couple decades)

      Thanks a lot, bro. I’m glad you enjoyed that 2nd one, it was a lot of fun to make. I’ve always wanted to do a shot like that but tS is shit with textures, so I knew I had to use other means. I absolutely love Nasa’s searchable galleries, especially the ISS & Shuttle one. One of their other one only has images at 640 x480, which are nice images but suck because they’re practically useless for 3D work. However, most of the images in the ISS & Shuttle gallery are between 3000 and 5000 pixels. 😀

Leave a Reply

