Orbiting Delta Vega

I’m currently in a holding pattern with my PC maintenance while I download some software. My eventual goal is to completely frag Windows Vista because I have compatibility issues with some of my software. I want to install Windows XP w/ SP2 (I know SP3 is out but SP2 will suit me just fine) and dual boot with Mandriva Linux 2010 (which I’m downloading on a very slow internet connection, so it’s going to be a while.) I also have a free Live CD coming from Sun Microsystems for their free OS, OpenSolaris. I might eventually triple boot with XP, Mandriva and OpenSolaris if I wind up liking OpenSolaris.

In the meantime, here’s an image I rendered while I’m waiting for Mandriva to download. Expect more of this type of thing in the near future, I’m only at a little over 100 of the 696 MB Mandriva install CD (thank goodness for download managers.) ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Orbiting Delta Vega

  1. hi buddy damm right i have thought of just running linux but my os is windows xp so i’m happy with that. ohh and another great pic Thanks

    • Yeah, I was thinking of switching entirely to Linux but I really like Windows XP. In fact, I miss XP. I don’t like Vista because it’s too heavy on system resources and there are the compatibility issues but I have XP on a CD, so I just need to install that and I’ll be good. I just need a Windows 98 install CD so that I can do a new install with my upgrade version of XP. (they’re not very expensive) I have a lot of games that require Windows, most of them are made for XP, and my ISP requires Windows also. They used to have Linux support but they don’t anymore. So, that right there is a vote for sticking with good ol’ Windows, but I am looking forward to experimenting with Linux.

      And thanks as always for the compliment on the image. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Okay, I’m back for the pretty pictures :D! Great pic – looks like it would be right out of a TOS episode.

    Good luck on the PC build!

Leave a Reply

