TOS Starfleet 2007 Pt. 2

Continuing on with the stuff I posted yesterday, here’s a group of ships that I built by kitbashing my 2007 Constitution-class mesh.

Larson-class Destroyer

First up is the Larson-class Destroyer from the old FASA RPG from the ’80s.  This is the only ship in this group not designed by Franz Joseph, so I’ll start there.

As far as FASA designs go, there are few that I like.  There also aren’t many single-nacelled designs that I like, just a few.  This ship is one of them.  I like the more balanced feel that it has as opposed to other single-nacelled designs, due to the double warp pylons.

Yam01

Yam02

Side note:  Fans of TNG might recognize the name and registry from the 2nd season episode Where Silence has Lease.  In that episode, Riker gives the incorrect registry for the Galaxy-class USS Yamato as NCC-1305-E.  That makes sense to me, it’s clearly the 6th starship named Yamato.  However, Mike Okuda pointed out that that registry wasn’t right for TNG, so he changed it to NCC-71807 for Contagion.  So, I named the ship the Yamato with the registry NCC-1305 in homage to the episode Where Silence has Lease and as an unsaid WTF? to the idea that the Enterprise is the only ship whose registry never changes, they just add letters.

Hermes-class Scout

Aside from the Larson, this design and the Kelvin from the new movie  are the other two single-nacelled Starfleet ships that I like in all of Trek.  For those who don’t know it, this design comes from the old Star Fleet Technical Manual from 1975 by Franz Joseph.

For this mesh, I went off the design a bit by mixing in some parts from the 2nd pilot version of the Enterprise.  I figure a scout is on the fringes of the galaxy and can’t necessarily come in regularly for refits.

Cal01

Cal02

Side note:  I named this ship Calypso after Jacques Cousteau’s ship.  The unseen captain’s yacht was from TNG was also named Calypso, presumably also after Cousteau’s ship.  That theory is suppored by the captain’s yacht from Insurrection, which is named the Cousteau.  (I see a theme there. ;))

Saladin-class Destroyer

This ship is basically the same design as the Hermes-class.  Some differences are the prominent phaser emitters and photon torpedo launchers in the B/C deck structure under the bridge.  I also use newer parts on this ship, lending to the theory that Starfleet takes its defenses very seriously.

Ere01

Ere02

Side note:  This ship is named after Erebus, one of those Greek gods of the underworld.  I figure that’s appropriate for a destroyer, which could be regarded as a death-dealer ship design.

Ptolemy-class Tug/Transport

This is the final design from the manual that I’ve modeled.  It’s a combination Tug & Transport.  Like the Scout, I used parts from a pilot version, though this time it was the 1st pilot version.  I figure nobody really cares if a transport ship has the latest technology.  I also gave it an S.S. prefix, instead of U.S.S. and modified the registry slightly to denote that this isn’t a ship of the line.

Therm01

Therm02

The tug version is the same ship without the cargo container.

The tug version is the same ship without the cargo container.

The ship can carry a 2nd cargo container, which is the standard maximum.  However, some fan productions and images show it with 3, which leads us to the believable conclusion that Starfleet exceeds the maximum when the mission calls for it.

The ship can carry a 2nd cargo container, which is the standard maximum. However, some fan productions and images show it with 3, which leads us to the believable conclusion that Starfleet exceeds the maximum when the mission calls for it.

Side note:  This ship is named after the famous clipper ship that sailed from London in the late 1800s.

That does it for this collection.  The only ship from the Technical Manual that I still need to model is the Federation-class dreadnought.  One of these days, I also want to model the big starbase from that book.  I made one several years ago but I don’t have it anymore.

2 thoughts on “TOS Starfleet 2007 Pt. 2

Leave a Reply

