The Force is strong with this one Pt. 1

I know, it’s been a while since I posted. I just wasn’t in the mood for 3D modeling or rendering for a while. Since I don’t get paid for this stuff, it’s up to me to motivate myself to do 3D and there are times when I just don’t feel like it, so I usually retreat into the world of gaming.

For those who don’t know, I don’t like that much Sci-Fi (compared to some. ;)) My favorites are Star Wars, Star Trek, Super Heroes and Battlestar Galactica (in that order.) Anywho, I recently bought Star Wars: The Force Unleashed for the Playstation 2. It’s an awesome game, I beat it and now I’m playing it again looking for hidden stuff that I missed the first time through.

So, now I’m on a Star Wars modeling kick. I’m starting with one of the coolest inventions ever: the lightsaber. I love lightsabers. I love the fact that each individual lightsaber is unique to the Jedi who built it, so there are no limits to what you can do with one. And, from time to time, I like to build hilts from the movies or design my own (more on that later.) This is one that I started building yesterday. It’s pretty simplistic but I figure it’s either one that belongs to a Jedi who likes to keep things simple or it was built in a hurry (a skilled Jedi can whip up a new hilt in just a couple days, provided they have adequate parts and a colored Adegan focusing crystal.) The next hilt I do will be more complex. I just have a few more parts to add to this one before it’s complete. 🙂

Hilt03_04

Hilt03_05

Hilt03_06

After I finish this, I’ll probably whip up a few more lightsaber hilts and I also have plans to build a freighter from Star Wars. I was building one last year but I lost the files, but that might be for the better. Now I can start fresh. 😀

Leave a Reply

